9th August 2022



Manchester City Council welcomes ward boundary changes

1 min read

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission has published its final recommendations on new ward boundaries for the Manchester City Council area. 

The Commission – which has statutory responsibility for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements in England – initiated a review of Manchester’s ward boundaries in 2015 due to changes to the city’s population and neighbourhoods since the last review in 2002.

Manchester will retain the same level of Councillors as before – 96 members, with three members per ward.

Sir Richard Leese, Leader of Manchester City Council, said: “Manchester has been through a period of unprecedented growth over the past fifteen years. The City Council welcomes the Local Government Boundary Commission’s final recommendations, which will allow Councillors to continue to represent residents and communities as the city continues to change and grow.”

The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft Order bringing into force the recommendations will be laid in Parliament in the coming months. The new electoral arrangements to come into force in May 2018, when voters in Manchester have the chance to elect all 96 Councillors.

Full details of the final recommendations are available on the Commission’s website at www.lgbce.org.uk

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © All rights reserved. | Newsphere by AF themes.